News Notes

Voter registration deadline is Friday

Fri., Mar. 11 is the last day to apply for voter registration in order to be eligible to vote in the Tues., Apr. 5 Board of Education General election for Dibble, Blanchard, Elmore City, and Washington Schools, and the City of Lindsay Municipal Election, according to County Election Board Secretaries.
Persons who are United States Citizens, residents of Oklahoma, and at least 17 ½ years old are eligible to apply for voter registration. However, voters must be at least 18 years old to vote.
Applications must be received by the County Election Board or postmarked no later than midnight, Fri., Mar. 11. Applications postmarked after that time will be accepted, but will not be processed until after the Tues., Apr. 5 Election. Applications may also be submitted to any motor vehicle agency that is also an official voter registration agency by the submission deadline. 
Applicants will be notified in writing when their application has been processed. Approved voters will receive a Voter Identification Card in the mail. Some may receive a letter that explains the reason or reasons the application was not approved. Those who do not receive a response within 30 days of submitting their application should contact their County Election Board office immediately.
Voters are reminded that applications must be approved by the County Election Board Secretary in order to vote.
Registered voters who have moved from a different county or state will need to complete a new Voter Registration Application in order to be eligible for elections in their new county. 
Those who have moved within the county and need to update their address may make changes online using the OK Voter Portal at or complete a Voter Registration Application.
Voter Registration Applications can be downloaded from the State Election Board website at Forms may also be completed at County Election Board. Most post offices, tag agencies, and public libraries have applications available upon request.
Questions may be directed to the Election Board Secretaries. The board secretaries and phone numbers in the Shopper's distribution area are:  Garvin County, Gayla Dean, 405-238-3303; McClain County, Karen Haley, 405-527-3121; Grady County, Katrina Hughes, 405-224-1430.
The Garvin County Election Board is located inside the Garvin County Courthouse in Pauls Valley, First Floor, Room 8. Their hours are 8:00 a.m. untiil 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. 
The McClain County Election Board office is in Room 101, at 121 N. 2nd Ave. in Purcell (inside the McClain County Courthouse). Their hours are 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. Their website is
The Grady County Election Board office is located in the District Attorney Complex at 307 W. Pennsylvania Ave. in Chickasha.
Applications also are available at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s